Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /customers/0/6/4/smartstartchildcare.co.uk/httpd.www/wp-content/themes/flatsome/inc/shortcodes/ux_image.php on line 55

Learning at our Nursery

Our nursery follows the guidance of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), within the guidance are seven areas of learning and development which staff will use when recording your child’s unique learning journey.

The EYFS framework splits the 7 areas of learning into “Prime” and “Specific” areas.
The 3 prime areas are related to learning and developing the key skills needed to help your child be curious, form relationships, be enthusiastic and become ready for school
The three prime areas are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

With our younger child we place more focus on the prime areas as it will embed skills needed for learning within the four specific areas, as the children grow and develop their learning will be balanced between all seven areas.
The four Specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

More information about the Early Years Foundation Stage can be found at: www.foundationyears.org.uk